Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: 6" barrel longslide 1911s?

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)

Postak 6" barrel longslide 1911s?

anybody got a 6" barreled long-slide 1911?

since sarco got all those para slides -- i have been itching for another 1911 build up-- all my other 1911s are 5" guns so i wanting to do something outside the box--

any problems with the 6" versions i should be aware of? or should i just stick with the 5"s---????

Feedback Score

Always wanted to so I could build a hunting pistol. If you do keep us up on it. Only thing I recall people said it had a weird recoil feel. Kinda drawn out. Nothing bad tho.

Feedback Score

Have an ole AMT Long Slide (hardballer) the only problem that I had with it was
    FTF 200gr. LSWC, gunsmith took care of that though ( they were known for that)
    The only difference I have notice is you may find yourself trying to offset the
    additional weight and length.
    Same can be said with a Desert Eagle people tend to shoot high. As mentioned
    above recoil is "different" because of the length, movement, additional weight
    but no problems (laws of physics). One other thing if you reload, some loads
    that worked in your 5" may not cycle the longer slide..I had to beef up my reloads
    for it to complete the cycle, you can replace springs, buffers to do this, but becomes
    a PITA to keep swapping them out to fire "ball" ammo.. so it's just easier to load a
    little hotter ( they are all under max.) I use WW231, CCI300, 200gr Cast LSWC.
    Soooo... Go for it...

-Rock

Feedback Score

Back in another lifetime, I had a chance to shoot an AMT HardBaller LongSlide. Sweet. If I was as smart as I think I am, I would have stolen that thing. 7" barrel IIRC and hardly any recoil.
    427, why do you need a long barrel? This past Saturday I took a small wild pig with my Star PD45.
    Hunter

Feedback Score

Quote Originally Posted by hunter_02 View Post