Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Life after Sandy in NJ

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)

Default Life after Sandy in NJ

I should note I am a florida resident with a business office/Apt in the Jacksonville area and a second florida home in Ft Myers. I grew up in NJ and have a office and rental properties and sister's along the coast less than a 1/16 of a mile from the beach. my duaghther and husband live in NE Philly
    I do a fair amount of Business in NJ, PA, DEL, & NY.

My wife & I arrive at my office/ rental which is currently empty, the afternoon after Sandy struck the Jersey Shore
    this neighborhood was devastated, my rental had ocean water up to the porch, but luckily not in the house, the office was also spared. I have oceanfront boardwalk on my front lawn, all of my neighbors have substantial damage we have no electric or cable. my wife drove to my daughters home, they have elctric cable and gas. I stayed behind loaded and the sig sauer.
    I have natural gas and land line phone, new phones don't work neither does the cell service ( thought it does now) water and sewer are rationed because both have been compromised though slightly functional I still shower daily. I heated the first night with the gas oven and plenty of blankets, food was still frozen, I had ice still till friday all the frig food had to be thrown out ( we keep small amounts of perishables in the frig) the next day my brother in law and I sood in line for 3 1/2 hours for a 3000 watt generator that never came?, the gas stove is a old one, so I could cook and boil water for tea