Waiting on postman
Of course I am from Texas
Never have/Never will
Move to Indiana, fill out the application and fingerprint card, and give them around $150. If you can legally own a handgun, you get the license. AFAIK, we're the only state to offer a lifetime license at this time.
"To show you how radical I am, I want carjackers dead. I want rapists dead. I want burglars dead. I want child molesters dead. I want the bad guys dead. No court case. No parole. No early release. I want 'em dead. Get a gun and when they attack you, shoot 'em."
Ted Nugent - speaking at the NRA convention April 17, 2005
In Texas, you have to submit prints and have a noterized form application submitted through the FBI. A $135.00 application fee is paid up front even if you don't get approved. As well, the CCL course here runs from $100.00 -$140.00 too. We have to take a shooting test using 50 rounds in the type of hand gun you intend use. Semiauto or revolver. A written exam is also given.
A CCL holder in Texas can buy weapons, receiver and, NFA weapons without having to call the FBI or waiting. Just pay and take the gun.
I am not sure about your states gun laws but as of July 01, 2007 in Indiana you can buy a Lifetime Permit for $100.00 if you already have a permit or $125.00 if you do not.
I got by cheap here in Florida $117.00 and Proof that I was a Small Arms Inst. in the military. Being retired Military has a few perks, but not many - If The O man get the nod I fear more base closures.
I have had my Texas permit since they first allowed concealed carry. I am taking a class to get my non resident Utah permit tomorrow as it opens up a few more states for me to carry in. On a side note I have been open carrying in New Mexico and Colorado for the last three years and it is quite refreshing but you don't in Denver and a few other big cities. Albuquerque is very open to open carry but you don't see many people doing it in town.
Wayne in North Texas
$10/4 years in South Dakota. No lifetime permit.
Fill out a name & address form and affirm you're not a felon or otherwise barred from ownership.
Your copy of the form is your temp permit once the Sheriff signs it (after the BG check) and the State AG mails you the actual permit a week or two later, assuming you pass the background check.
Oh yes, the Sheriff has 3 days to either grant the permit or give reason for the denial.
My wife and I have CCW. First I have heard of Lifetime License. Where Is It available. What states. Does California Offer Lifetime license.
So far, Indiana only on the lifetime license AFAIK.