Thread: AK receiver jig

Feedback Score

Default AK receiver jig

I am new to GUNCO and ak building. I am an avid reloader and have avaible the tools to make my own tools. I see alot of "poor man's jigs" and was wondering where to get the dimensions for the blank inside of the receiver of one of these jigs. I am new to this site so thank you for your helping me navigate through. Thanks,Jim
    IGNORANCE IS NO EXCUSE

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

Here is a link to VERY POORMAN'S BENDING JIG.

A lot of great info can be found in the library. Go to the top of the page and click on Gunco.net and click on it and scroll down all the forums till you reach Firearm Library then click on > Rifles Library and then finally > AK-47 Library. Most of the real important stuff are "stickies". I hope this helps.
    Gunco member #11

“it is dangerous to be right in matters about which the established authorities are wrong” Voltaire

Feedback Score

Thanks for the directions!
    IGNORANCE IS NO EXCUSE

Feedback Score

Hello thrillbilly77,
    The "Very Poorman's Jig" is a great idea. So I built my own version using thicker 2 x 2 inch angle 15 inches long. That angle is 1/4 inch thick to resist deforming under load. The bolts are all 3/8 inch UNC carriage bolts for the same reason, two on each end makes for a much more rigid frame.

The mandrell that the AK flat folds around is 1.25 inch x .5 inch x12 inches cold rolled steel. This mandrel (two of them actually) sandwich the flat. The inner bar must be milled (bevelled) to clear the dimples and impressions on the flat. It slides out after the fold is made. The cold rolled has nice square edges and can clamp the AK flat securely (unlike some hot rolled straps).

Six more 3/8 inch carriage bolts (4 inches long each) go through the cold rolled mandrel bars and are drawn through the frame by using steel cross pieces (1/2 x 1/2 x 3 inch hot rolled steel) and 3/8 inch nuts. No hydraulic press is needed.