Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: projects

Feedback Score

Default projects

okay guys i am new to the milling machine and im looking to expand my knowledge befor i go to machining school, are their any use full but simpler projects i can do to hone my skills? i have made a barrel pin pressing block but thats it so far like i said i am new to this any help would be awsome thanks guys.tryed looking on the net but havent found much.

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

I assume you are talking about making one offs for personal use. If that's the case, don't stop at your BP press block.
    There are a multitude of jigs and fixtures for building AKs. There are couple of things in the library. I know that the TG riveting jig that I used to sell is in there. I'm also pretty sure that the plans for 555th's bending jig and plinker762's riveting fixture (The first 3 AK building tools available and the ones that started it all) are in there as well.
    AKbuilder picked up where we left off and now offers almost every conceivable tool a home builder could want. Take a look at his line, lots of neat stuff you can make. As long as you are just making it for yourself and not planning on selling them.

Feedback Score

Hello dball1020,
    What sort of mill are you using ???
    Have you seen the MIT ed video series on machinetools ??? They are free for the download and are excellent.

Get the textbooks that you will use in your course-work and become familiar with the proper terminology. Used textbooks are also good to add to your home shop library. Current texts emphasise CNC processes while older texts like prior to 1990 focus more on manual machinery. The same deal applies to "Machinery's Handbook", the bible of machining info.

Aluminum is always fun to mill as it is easy to cut. Some schools have their students machining on special wax which helps preserve the lab machinery.

Have fun !!!

VD in AZ

Feedback Score