Gunco Forums banner

Suggestion on calipers for measuring,bits, and taps

1K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  hcpookie 
#1 ·
Well, I got my AMD-63 parts kit in today and it is beautiful. I can't wait to put this gun together. I also ordered to blanks from ACE today in the group buy section..what a deal! Anyway, I'm getting excited about the build and want to go ahead and pick up some of the necessary tools. This is my first build, so you guys will have to forgive me for the more basic questions. First off, for measuring, what kind of calipers would you recommend? The electronic or dial? Any specific recommendations for a decent pair that won't kill my pocketbook? Also, I need all the necessary drill bits and files. What type of drill bits will I need? One the Ace Arms website, they sell the cobalt bits. Should I look for ones like this or are there alternatives? Last, I do have a dremel, but i figure for some of the curved corners such as the magwell, I will need some files. What do you guys suggest for this as well?

Edit: Forgot to ask about a wrench for tapping? Any suggestions on this would be great.

#2 ·
The digital calipers are really nice.
Not only do I find them faster to use, they also do the conversion from metric to decimal automatically.

For drill bits you really need a full index, including fractional, numbered and letter drills.
These are available from HF for as little as $39., but buy the best ones you can afford.

And yes, you will need a assortment of files, including a rat tail for the corners.

#3 ·
Edit: Forgot to ask about a wrench for tapping? Any suggestions on this would be great.[/QUOTE]

Check Enco, MSC, Harbour Freight for the best price on a benchtop tapping tool (~100.00 or less). With the right tapping oil, it is almost immpossible to break at tap with one of these.

#4 ·
yosuthnmasa said: