Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: MMMMMM JERKY!!!

Next door to my neighbors house in Michigan
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

Default MMMMMM JERKY!!!

I'm sitting here enjoying some nice missouri deer thats been turned into jerky. I was wondering what recipie everyone uses to make their jerky. I have an electric smoker and dehydrator but usually perfer to use the dehydrator because so far I've been able to produce better jerky with it over the smoker. I know the smoker can produce great jerky so how are you guys doing it?
    Here's my jerky recipie for the dehydrator. I've been making it this way for about 18 years and have quite a few jerky vultures that start asking for some after they hear I've got a deer.

The meat cuts easier if you freeze it and wait till its just starting to thaw out so that it still has the big ice crystals in it. Remove all of the fat, gristle and silver skin you can. Cut the meat across the grain about 1/4" thick . Soak it in the marinade for 8-12 hours in a non metalic bowl in the fridge. The longer you leave it in the marinade the saltier it will be. I put the pieces on the dehydrator trays until the pieces are starting to look pretty dried out on the bottem, then flip them over. I continue to dehydrate them until they are hard to bend, but not so hard they crack.
    I make dog treats out of all the scraps by grinding them up into deerburger.Try not to use the fat as it wont keep as long as the dried out meat and will quickly get rancid. I usually do a quarter at a time which takes at least two batches of marinade. I take the two batches of left over marinade from the cut jerky and add 2 more table spoons of salt and mix it up. Then mix it with a 1 gallon ziplock back full of deer burger. Then make it into small patties and put them on the dehydrator until they're dried out. I usually dry them out more than I do the jerky.