Why No 30-Rnd. Mags on .308 rifles (and the few 30 rnd mags that are made are junk?)
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why No 30-Rnd. Mags on .308 rifles (and the few 30 rnd mags that are made are junk?)

Feedback Score

Postak Why No 30-Rnd. Mags on .308 rifles (and the few 30 rnd mags that are made are junk?)

I'm a rank newbie to the forum (just introduced myself in the intro thread), but have been studying these rifles for some years now.

I saw the thread about 30-round mags for FALs and one of the problems with these mags is that their weight makes them sag in the well or slip on the mag catch and this causes the rounds to misfeed. I know DSA used to sell the curved 30-round FAL mags and now you can't find them anywhere.

Moving to the M-14/M1A, just about every 30-round mag I've seen on video or read about is garbage -- same thing for the G3/HK91 mags.

What's the deal with 30-round mags in .308? It seems like 20 is the limit -- unless you get a Galil .308 in which case, you get 25 (but Galils have no bolt hold-open).

Why is 30 rounds in a .308 mag so problematic? Weight of the mag? Spring? Length? (from what I've seen in pics, the 30-round .308 mags tend to be a foot long) All of the above?

Citizen, Patriot, Ranger bellson's Avatar
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

Two reasons, like it or not for the 30 round mag issue.

1. The rifles were not designed to handle them, they were designed to handle 20 round mags. That has as much to do with the part and pieces of the rifles as it does the ergonomics....Try to get down and dirty with a 30 rounder, and you will figure it out very quick. They just get in the way.

2. You add 10-12% more weight to the rifle. Harder to carry for 20-35 miles, harder to shoulder and fire with accuracy, harder to deal with the logistics of supply.