Thread: M1A build and range report

Feedback Score
    35 (100%)

Default M1A build and range report

Had another build with me that has been sitting in the safe for years without much progress. Need some help with my M1A

Spent some much need personal time with the rifle and got it built. Its a Springfield M1A receiver with a complete H&R parts kit I have been sitting on for several years. I stripped what was done before and re-assembled it and brought it down to shoot. First thing that happened is it would only fire one round at a time with the need of the charging handle each round.

Went on line found someone else having similar problems and discovered the spindle valve had some blockage. Fix that problem and took it back to the high desert range for some testing.

Parts kit - H&R
    Receiver - Springfield
    Mags - US Mil issue from 44mag.com nice mags and heavy duty well built....
    Ammo - Aussie 7.62 mil issue...I have several thousand rounds of this premium stuff stacked around. Great ammo!!
    Range - High desert Nevada

First set of rounds with open sight was nailing the adhoc target of old propane tanks on the side of a hill at 50 yards. Pushed back the targets to 100 yards open sight....this time with target paper, nice 6in diameter set of holes with the second mag.

Went to check the target with a family member who wiped out his short barreled shotgun and proceeded to blow the shit out of the targets....HAHAHA

Much fun was had

Picture of the beast below. Love M1A's
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "Courage is being scared to death - and saddling up anyway." - The Duke

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)

oh-yea that is super nice--

now ya got me wanting one too!

Feedback Score

Beast my ass. That, Sir, is a thing of beauty.
    Hunter

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)

sweet I always wanted to do one of those

first off having lived in Reno, one can not beat a day in the high desert target shooting