Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: .308 ak successes ?

Feedback Score

Default .308 ak successes ?

I am kinda new to this, and was following some of the threads here on this topic but none of them have any final results. You guys are killin' me here! Has it been done? Can it be done? Is there a body count? Use a yugo? Use a romy? Just go buy a saiga and convert? HCPookie are you out there?

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

HC-who? Is that you John Wayne? Is that me?

- It shoots. Repeatedly.

- Gas Block cracking issue resolved with beefier (more beefy?) gas block. Original gas block was not heavy enough due to reaming needs and the barrel thickness at the sleeve. New gas block has more metal.

- The ejector needs to be trimmed.

- I need to paint it and convert more magazines

http://pookieweb.dyndns.org:61129/AKM/AK_308/ak_308.htm

Feedback Score

Thanks for the reply,hc. Pleased to hear it shoots,repeatedly. Seriously planning one of these myself. Have a new cetme barrel, a yugo stamped kit for parts and kinda thinking about doing this on a psl type receiver. Does anyone know if a galil 308 bolt will lock-up in a yugo frt trunnion? Looking over some of these threads on this conversion, a big area of concern was the fitness of the M-70 bolt or any 7.632x39 bolt for the task. What say you?

Citizen, Patriot, Ranger bellson's Avatar
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

Default Saiga!!!!!

I've tried it both ways. I like the Saiga conversion better. I went one further and hacked at some old G3 mags, now I'm a happy boy...

Good Luck!

Bellson

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

I have to say the Saiga 308 looks like a nice setup, especially with those 20-round mags. A bit pricey with the mags, but cool looks = $$$