Thread: Donor rifles for a 7.62x25mm conversion...

Feedback Score

Default Donor rifles for a 7.62x25mm conversion...

I was considering either a Saiga in .223 or a WASR-2 Single stack as donor rifles for a 7.62x25mm conversion. I know the 5.45bolt will accomodate the case head of a 7.62x25mm, and the .223 might also with a small modification to enlarge it. Are there any legal issues with chopping up either of these for parts? Can I re-use the reciever after removing the trunion to add a longer bolt stop and press in the new barrel? Also, is there any reason why I couldn't tap and thread the front trunion for screws while leaving the rear trunion with its original rivets? I have never built an AK before but am very eager to try- I'm just short on heavy equiptment.

Part 2: Could a straight pull bolt action type rifle be made by simply replacing the barrel on 5.45 ak with a 7.62 x25mm barrel (and adding a magwell to feed 7.62x25mm)? I imagine this would work so long as the new barrel is in the same place as the original.

2B: Do you think a single stack 5.45 mag would feed 7.62x25mm, if the feed lips were elongated? how about double stack, or 7.62x39 for that matter?
    Last edited by Bullpup; 10-21-2007 at 11:01 PM.

Feedback Score
    25 (100%)

Ah well thats a mouth full. You can chop up the guns as long as the parts compliance is correct (922r) when you are done. You can tap and screw the front trunnion if you like, riveting is better.
    Part 2 you could do that, or you could mod the bolt and carrier for blow back operation.

Im sure others will be along this morning with more info. Also you might want to do a search on 762x25 rifles as there are several excellent posts on these.

Feedback Score
    38 (100%)

Also do a search on 9mm AK (or something like that), you can use the same ideas on a 7.62X25 build.

Feedback Score