Gunco Forums banner

AK from 7.62X39 to 7.62X51 (.308) or higher

6K views 20 replies 7 participants last post by  muttman 
#1 ·
Hello to everyone who loves guns!! I'm new to the gun building world, and I'm starting my first AK build out of an AMD 65. I have someone that has built one before that can help me, but my next build will be more difficult. I want to be able to use an AK for hunting, but have heard that it good for about 100 to 200 yards. I want to increase its range and accuracy. My guess is that a higher caliber and longer barrel will help me accomplish this. Does anybody have some helpful info on how to do this, or weather this is even possible. Thanks for any help that anyone can give me.:help2:

#2 ·
WELCOME. WHAT ARE YOU HUNTING?? BIG GAME OR SMALL??
WELL TO START YOU CAN READ THE LAST 3 OR 4 PAGES HERE BUT TO GET TO MOST OF THE DISSCUSSION ON THE CONVERSION READ HERE WERE I WAS AT 4 YEARS AGO ASKING THE SAME QUESTIONS. WITH THE PRICE OF KITS A SAIGA 308 IS LIKELY EASIER AND THE SAME PRICE PLUS IT HAS THREE LUG BOLT. IT WILL TAKE SOME WORK TO MAKE THESE/ANY AK TYPE REALLY ACCURATE AS WELL. YOU CAN LIKELY BUY A REMINGTON OR BROWNING AUTO OR EVEN A AR 10 BASED 308, FOR WHAT A TRUE TAKE INTO THE WOODS AND SERIOUSLY HUNT AK WILL COST TO GET RIGHT. iM TALKING AT LEAST 1.25" GROUPS OR BETTER AT 100 YARDS TO BE ACCURATE AT OVER 200 FOR DEER OR OTHER BIGGER GAME. LINKS BELOW.

http://www.gunco.net/forums/f244/308-ak-18443/

GOOD INFO HERE AS WELL 243 IS SAME JUST NECKED DOWN

http://www.gunco.net/forums/f244/rbthntr64s-243-ak-build-27125/