Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: 7.62x25 Bullpup

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Default 7.62x25 Bullpup

Hello all,

Its been awhile since I've posted here, but I just completed a project that I have been working on for several years, and thought I would share it here...

My idea was to build a 7.62x25 AK conversion using parts that I had available from many years of home gunsmithing, as well as readily available stock and materials from my shop. I decided that a bullpup would make some sense from the standpoint of compactness- I didn't really want a full sized AK in a pistol caliber. I wanted it to work with unmodified PPS 43 magazines, fullfill the minimum barrel and OAL legality requirements, and have the ability to utilize as many aftermarked parts and accessories (sights, optics, lights, grips, whatever) as possible.

I spent some time working out the details and geometry of the front end, as I saw this as the weak point on many bullpup conversions, particularly the problem of how to incorporate good sights to the basic AK platform. My solution was to build a stable platform for the incorporation of a picatinny rail on which could be mounted good aftermarket AR type removeable sights. I wanted to keep the sight radius as long as possible, and this determined the length of the basic front end components. It also left room for supplementary rails that can be used for other application (foregrip, lights, sling mounting points, etc.)