Thread: 1919a4 build

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

Question 1919a4 build

I have a question as to how hard it is to build one of these. is there alot of machining to do on the RH side plate? I know the rivet holes need to be drilled and I know that I need a S/A trigger and sear, but what else is required? and really how hard is it to do? I only have a drill press and riveting tools and basic home brew knowledge, no mill can it be done like this or would I really need more tools to accomplish this? the kits aren't badly priced and the side plates aren't too bad either. rivet kits are cheap, and the semi trigger and sear isn't too bad really I guess. anyone have any experience with these? I have 6 ak's and 2 fn fals all but the saiga ak were built by me, have 2 sks's also I figure it's time to step up to belt fed just for fun

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

Well, I'm no expert on these by any stretch of the imagination, but I do have a kit on order and have been doing some research on them.
    The machining needs to be done to the bolt, barrel extension, lock frame and accelerator. The cost varies from $60 to $125, depending on who you have do the work.
    The side plate comes already machined. The 100% is ready to rivet on, if you go with a 80% you have to drill and chamfer the rivet holes.

Lots of good info here. http://www.1919a4.com/

Feedback Score
    12 (100%)

what 7.62 said....Its a lot of fun but it can get expensive......If anyone needs one I have a brand new bucking bar setup for the 1919 rivets I am going to sell for what I have in it....
    FIREARM REFINISHING AT ITS FINEST !

Refinishing and Builds
    AK and variants
    FAL/AR-15/Handguns/Shotguns

Affordable prices/Licensed Gunsmith
    4 to 6 week turnaround
    -Send an email for a price quote today and
    check out our website-

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)