Gunco Forums banner

belt fed AK?

2K views 17 replies 11 participants last post by  3 WEELIN GEEZER 
#1 ·
has anybody tried to build a romy belt fed? maybe using disintegrating M60 style belts, links for 308 should be a pretty close fit to 7.62x39. The feeding mechanism would be the part that would take the most fabrication. but is it feasable?

#8 ·
i think this guy wants to design an new one and wants a little help from you ak expert guru's

#9 ·
I like the belt feds like the aforementioned. but I am a manufacturing engineering student. I am very good at making anything I want, and I like doing things just for the heck of it.

so I was wondering if anybody had done it before. kind of wanted to see what I would be getting into if I started the project.

thanks guys

#13 ·
most of this is recycled bits...

There are several major hurdles to face. Keep in mind that most of the online articles I've read on the RPD state the belt feed design is a rather weak one that was prone to misfeeds. SO if those articles are to be believed, you've got a tenous design to begin with!

Unmodified M60 links won't work due to the taper of the 7.62x39 cartridge. Notice I said "unmodified"... you could probably stretch the bottom half of the links with a linking "tool" designed for the job. The links, once bent out, would not fit .308 and would need to be hand-fit... every single one of them... to make sure they fit and feed the 7.62x39. Conclusion: Buy cheap & available RPD belts :D

Stripping the bullet from the belt isn't a problem because the RPD is a "push" type, like an M60, like a normal AK, and therefore a normal AK bolt will work, assuming you locate the belt at the same location just below the ejector like a normal magazine would feed. That's the easy part... your starting point is the bolt and feed mechanism.