Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Thread: TIG Welding problems

Feedback Score
    15 (100%)

Default TIG Welding problems

I've got my HF TIG welder setup and running, but after doing a number of test welds to get back in the swing of welding and laying down a nice bead, I'm running into problems.

First off, all is hooked up correctly and I've reviewed the TIG 101 info on pirate's web site (very helpful!).

The problem is I'm getting a lot of air bubbles, voids, whatever you want to call them in my welds. I've welded before, mostly gas and arc, so I'm not a total newbie, but it's been a while. The metal surfaces were blasted and cleaned very well beforehand. No slag! I've talked to one of the welders where I work and his guess is that I may have a bad tank of Argon (impurities).

Anyone else note this problem using one of these HF welders? I want to check around first before going through the likely hassle of getting my Argon supplier to give me a different tank of gas.
    " The world is a very dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who do nothing about them." - Albert Einstein, 1879-1955

Feedback Score
    31 (100%)

some questions,
    what size nozzle are you using on the torch?
    how many cfh are you set at on the regulator?
    when you are welding are you getting a good puddle?

you can give me a call with questions if you want

Feedback Score
    15 (100%)

I'm using a number 5 nozzle, running the gas at between 15-20 on the regulator. Power setting I've tried everywhere between 4-7, but mostly about 5 or so.

I am getting a good puddle, though it's slow to start at times, and the bubbles seem most frequent at that point. It's like I get a nice bead started then a bubble will pop up.

Added: The air pockets become most evident when I grind the weld down. Things might look ok on the surface, but once I grind the weld down that's when I see the small pits and holes (ala swiss cheese).