Thread: Belt fed FAL?

Gainesville, Ga Prototype Services's Avatar
    Feedback Score

Default Belt fed FAL?

I did a search but didn't find anything.
    Has anyone contemplated a beltfed FAL?

I am just getting started building AKs, and have never had anything beltfed in my hands to study. But I have messed with FALs for years.

I think an AR would be fun too, but I understand the JAC beltfeds had some problems.

Dave

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

i dont think the design would lend itself very well at all.

SHARPSSHOOTER5090 SHARPSSHOOTER5090's Avatar
    Feedback Score
    5 (100%)

I am working on a design for a beltfeed FAL. Totally different concept that the MG47 series. Rear lock up tipping bolt presents some unique problems.

SS

Gainesville, Ga Prototype Services's Avatar
    Feedback Score

The newest factory Imbel FALs were chambered in 223 with a rotary bolt like an AR, but I would like to stay close to original design in 308. Here again, without any knowledge of beltfeds....
    SS, does your idea/design leave the lower receiver, buttstock, etc alone? Do you think you will use 1919 or M-60 links? (I have a bucket of M-60s)
    I have a bunch of L1A1 builds and kits, and almost done with my L2A1 HB. A Beltfed L2 would be a nice addition.
    If I can help or bounce ideas back and forth, email me.
    Based on what little stuff I have seen on this board, I assumed the gas system would need to be flipped, so I have been thinking about trying to make a new gasblock. I have an extra bipod.....

Feedback Score

belt fed FAL are a myth. south africa did make HB with QD barrels, but that's just the beginning of fun.

Citizen, Patriot, Ranger bellson's Avatar
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

Default A history lesson

Hello All,