Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: ar build noob help..

Feedback Score

Default ar build noob help..

New to AR's and I'm planning on building a 20in A2 or A3. I unfortunately live in a state where bayo lugs and threaded flashiders are tools of the devil, so my question is where can I get a complete upper assembly without these features. I'd like to pin on an ak-74 style muzzle brake. I'm partial to bushmaster or DPMS, but I am a humble noob to the AR game so feel free to enlighten me.

Thanks

Feedback Score

Check the boards at AR15.com - guys there are always selling stuff and can probably help with the legal bits. Bushy made plenty of 'post-ban' uppers, so there should be something that will meet your needs from them.

Good luck!

GsT

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

All of the major sellers (Model 1, J&T, Rock River, M&A, etc) offer their uppers and kits in preban configuration. These come with a permanently attached brake and no bayo lug.

Here's an example.
    http://www.model1sales.com/item-deta...e=s20postk.gif

Feedback Score

Ok, I'll check around then. Also if I was to find a complete upper minus the bolt would the barrel need to headspaced to that specific bolt?

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

In theory, No.
    The headspace in a AR is set by the barrel extension, any bolt/carrier combo SHOULD headspace correctly, but I would verify it anyway.

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

Model 1 sales seems to have te best price on kits. I am unsure of the quality as I have never bought from them before.
    Some people are like Slinkies. Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

I have built 3 using Model-1's kits, 2 for myself and 1 for a friend.
    All have gone together without issue and have never missed a beat.