Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Need Help w/an AR.

  1. #11
    No Hope For Me Coils's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    PA Where the Amish Roam Free
    Posts
    13,663
    Feedback Score
    38 (100%)

    Default

    I'm also glad to hear you figured it out.

  2. #12
    Citizen, Patriot, Ranger bellson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Peoples Republik of Kalifornia
    Posts
    2,593
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

    Default Congrats!

    Glad to hear that you got it worked out. I have run into the same issue w/ Model1 Sales. In one case, I had to throat and finish ream the chamber in order to get a round to seat fully. For future reference, the green scotch pad method is the least invasive way to clean up a chamber. I takes very little away in terms of actual metal. If you followed the tecchnique you described, you should be fine! I use an in and out technique to create a swirl pattern inside the chamber, kind of like polishing brake slave cylinders or V8 cylinders.

    One thing to always remember: Never mess with the gas port size! A burr in the bore can ruin your whole day! Not to mention the really heavy recoil if you overbore it! Accuracy tends to suffer a lot under these circumstances.


    Bellson<img>

  3. #13
    Gunco Regular 3/325's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    428
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default

    I wasn't about to enlarge the gas port, the brl isn't that short. I'm glad you guys mentioned polishing the bore, the only thing I could think of was headspace. I knew the problem was in the chamber and not with the ejector or anything else. I just didn't know what was wrong with the chamber. I figured someone here would know! Thank you guys for the help!

  4. #14
    Gunco Member ProGunOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    32
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default

    It was a rough chamber.
    I've had the same exact experience with a DPMS upper I bought several years ago. It wouldn't eject the empty casings all the time and the brass was showing signs of a gouged chamber. It would've been impossible to full length resize. Must've had a chip or burr when maching the chamber or possibly not enough coolant? I purchased the upper new/complete from a vendor at a local gunshow. He said he'd take it back to his shop and polish it up. The brass bulges were so deep, I told him I felt it was a manufacturing defect and wanted the barrel replaced. It was sent back to DPMS and was replaced with a new upper n/c.

  5. #15
    Gunco Member thumper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    75
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default

    Ahhh! The sweet sensation of success!

  6. #16
    Gunco Veteran Markp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Somalia
    Posts
    1,840
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moleman View Post
    Glad to hear you got it working. It can be pretty frustrating to have a gun that doesn't work correctly.

    Yep, I was pissed this weekend when my AR stopped working! I am not sure what's wrong. It might be ammo. I was using Wolf, which I hear is crap. It also might be that I didn't run the rifle wet (or wet enough).

    It would go bang and not extract the round, it would be jammed half extracted. I think it's the ammo because the week before it would cycle but jammed on feeding frangible ammo (wouldn't pick it up). Prior to that, I cycled 200 rounds with no failures to feed or extract. Ammo was different all three times, this is a DPMS CMP with the HBAR barrel.

    Any ideas? I think it's picky about ammo. I couldn't find any problems while cleaning it.

    Mark

  7. #17
    Gunco Rookie shoota45acp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Arkansas
    Posts
    18
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default

    I'm no expert, but my shootin' buddys rifle was doing the same thing and his gas block was mis-aligned with the barrel gas port. After we re-aligned the gas port it cycled flawlessly no matter what type ammo we shot.
    Easy and cheap fix.

  8. #18
    Gunco Veteran Markp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Somalia
    Posts
    1,840
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shoota45acp View Post
    I'm no expert, but my shootin' buddys rifle was doing the same thing and his gas block was mis-aligned with the barrel gas port. After we re-aligned the gas port it cycled flawlessly no matter what type ammo we shot.
    Easy and cheap fix.
    It's worth looking at, but I suspect that's not it. We'll see. I do know that it's a problem with the upper, so it's worth a look see.

    Mark

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Search tags for this page

There are currently no search engine referrals.
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •