Gunco Forums banner

Newbie question about M-16 uppers

6K views 37 replies 9 participants last post by  sniper69 
#1 ·
I am new to these forums, so Hi all. I have a question about the Ohio Ordnance Works M-16 uppers. They come without bolt, carrier, and charging handle. Can I use any bolt, carrier and charging handle? I assume its .223, but is there a special type I need? Thanks, Jeff

#2 ·
Hey SNAKEBYTE - welcome to gunco. :)

#3 ·
Is this going on a full auto M16 or a semi auto AR15? Different carriers, the full auto one in a semi could be bad news from a legal standpoint although it will function fine. Have to have the FA carrier to work in a 16 though. The bolts and charging handles are identical. Other than checking headspace for a particular combo, you can use any bolt in the right calber.

#7 ·
Welcome to Gunco SNAKEBYTE.

KernelKrink just about summed it up. AFAIK, and I'm no expert, my research tells me that you would be fine with an M-16 stripped upper. Fill it with an AR-15 Carrier(most carriers come complete with bolt) and a charging handle which is the same in an AR-15 or an M-16. Then you can put your completed upper on an AR lower. Unless you're class III, putting the internal parts of a miltarty M-16 into a civilian AR-15 will get you time in Club Fed! Savvy? The standard configuration for an M-16 or AR-15 is 5.56 NATO/ .223 Remmington!

#9 ·
One other issue is the Colt brand AR15 lowers use a different front pivot pin arrangement on at least some of their receivers. To adapt a milspec upper to those you need a special offset pin. No biggie, just something to be aware of. AFAIK all other brand lowers used the milspec front pin arrangement.

#11 ·
SNAKEBYTE said:
Hey... I know you!:eek:

Thought that was you. :) How's the hot weather treating you? I heard it has been in the 90's up where you're at.

#13 ·
Welcome to the forum SNAKEBYTE.