Thread: Any Tips for 80% Lower Buffer tube Hole?

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

Default Any Tips for 80% Lower Buffer tube Hole?

I have one of these I got from tannery shop, I also have his Tappered Reamer bit and the Monster Tap but have not attempeted to work on it yet.

I have built ARs from 100% lowers and AKs from kits so I have some different experience just not an 80% Lower.

I also have the drilling jig and the bits for those and the tap for the pistol grip but those don't scare me much.

So guys any tips on doing the buffer hole and threads?

I know it has to be straight and centered to work correctly, how do you guys accomplish that?
    "I don't like repeat offenders, I like DEAD offenders" Ted Nugent

Feedback Score
    Last edited by jandbj; 05-02-2008 at 08:15 AM. Reason: clarifying link

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

Nice thought but I already have a two drilling jigs so I'm not buying another one just to get the back alignment part.

They are from here; CNCGUNSMITHING - www.cncguns.com - AR15 80% Tooling / Drill Jig

I hadn't found the other type when I bought this one.
    "I don't like repeat offenders, I like DEAD offenders" Ted Nugent

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

Be sure to check the hole for being off center.I bought 2 from tannery shop a few years ago that I dug out recently.The hole was drilled off center and I will have to use a small sanding drum to adjust the position before drilling.

Feedback Score

Go to this site and read EVERYTHING there, especially the BTH reaming section.

Builders Squad Project - Home