Gunco Forums banner

Opinions on an AR

3K views 15 replies 11 participants last post by  Markp 
#1 ·
I wanna build an AR.... My goal is to make a sort of a sniper assault rifle.... I wanna do semi long range shooting... I know people have chambered their rifles to fire the 5.45. 5.56 or even the 7.62.... which one do you guys think would be the best for the task? which one would shoot farther and have power??? Since I am new to building and to guns in general I would appreciate any opinions you guys can share with me.
TIA

ARMO

#6 ·
if your looking for long range look into the DPMS LR308 Think of it as a big ar-15 but in .308 it will cost more when im done with mine im looking at about 3k but thats all topend parts but it will reach 400-500yrds past what i can do with 5.56. 1000yrds with .308 is something you can do with practice

#7 ·
I've been leaning towards the idea of AR in 7.62... What do you guys think about that. The ammo is way cheaper than the 5.56 that I originally wanted and would be more powerful but it wont go as far... I could also build it to fire the 5.45. Just looked at the prices for the .308, it is very expensive like the 5.56..... the 7.62 looks very good right now, but should I be a cheap ass?

#8 ·
First, what do you consider "semi-long range"? The military considers 600 yards "mid-range". Long range is 800 yards and beyond.

Since you're new to guns and shooting I would spend more time learning basic marksmanship with a standard rifle and not even worry about shooting any distances.

Learning to shoot at 500-600 yards takes a lot of practice and using the rifle is just part of it. Reading wind/light and learning to estimate distances takes a long time. Just because your sights are on the target doesn't mean you will hit it.

Again, learn basic skills and once you have mastered those, consider "semi-long range".