Thread: FTF issue.. too dry??

Feedback Score

Default FTF issue.. too dry??

Hi all, I just picked up a used AR and put about 100rds through it the other day without much luck.(its .223 cal by the way)
    It's a Colt upper and Rock River Arms lower, I believe a 20" barrel. I'm still a bit new to AR's, but I'm catching on quickly.

Basically it won't feed after about 10rds have been fired. it will either strip a new round and force the bullet tip into the top of the chamber(almost vertical) or it will graze the top of the case and the bullet will jam at the bottom of the feed ramp and in turn denting the neck of the case slightly.

I took it completely apart yesterday and cleaned the bolt and carrier assy, applied oil sparingly and tried again with no luck. Also, the mag has been swapped out. I used 5 diff mags each time. A bushy 20rd/30rd and 3 diff GI mags.

I must have read a hundred threads on FTF FTE issues on this forum and didn't find much help. The only thing I found was someone mentioned their AR wouldn't feed unless it was DRIPPING wet with oil. So, as a last resort I liberally applied oil to the bolt and carrier and tried again.

Went to the range with it this morning, leaking oil from everywhere like an old small block chevy... and sure enough, it didn't jam once.

So should I just call it a day and just make sure it's drenched with oil every time I shoot it?

Thanks for any help, I really appreciate it.
    Yugo SKS PSO-1, RPK Bipod | GSG5 G3 furniture | GSG5p | Romy G

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)

i would check the gas key on top of the carrier. i would also check out the bolt extractor-gas rings ect. any of your current mags have anti-tilt followers?? i say that because the short followers can tilt over and cause all kinds of weird jams. what ammo are you running in it? what mags?