Gunco Forums banner

2700 Yards????????

5K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  1biggun 
#1 ·
I am kinda new to this subject, so bare with me! I was watching the Military channel last night, and one of the X-perts on there was talking about the Springfield 1903A3 rifle, and how superior it was for it’s day. And one of the things he said was, “the thing that made it so superior was the fact that a trained soldier was able to shoot it accurately out to 2700 yards!
I might be stupid, but that seems like kinda of a stretch for any hand held rifle.
Am I un-informed, and can that rifle shoot accurately out to 2700 yards? And if so, where can I see something like that being done?

And thank you for listening, please help me with any protocols for this sight. Fantastic sight, and great people in it!

BigBarn

#3 ·
cheytac .408 can hold a 16 inch group and still punch through steel at over 2300 yds,
the barrett .416 shoots flater faster and more accurate than a .50 at 2500 yds and a thing i read it took sombody 3 shot to get on with a .50 and only 1 with a .416 at that distance.

#4 ·
The Springfield, IIRC, had a max range setting on the rear sight of around 2800 yards. Very optimistic. When the bullet is in flight as long as a .30-06 would be at that range a whole lot of factors can throw it off course. Let alone trying to see a man sized target at that range through irons. 1,000 yards would be pushing it for the average infantryman, maybe an expert might go a little more. Accurate range estimation is also required, before modern lightweight rangefinders were invented the shooter had to estimate range by visual clues. Being off by a couple hundred yards at long range was a miss.