Gunco Forums banner

why is it better??

8K views 29 replies 20 participants last post by  1biggun 
#1 ·
I'm new to ak's and I've been looking for a yugo m70 ab2. I've been given some references to go to a saiga....so what makes them better and what is the equal to an m70? thanx

#2 ·
A Saiga is a Russian AK. Yes, it has to go through a bit of conversion before it looks like an AK again....but the receiver is russian and a true AK, so to speak

The M70 is a yugoslavian rendition of the AK. It has other unique features likes a bulged trunnion and a grenade sight and adapter.

#6 ·
I have a hard time comparing a Saiga to a true russian AK the parts are lighter in almost every aspect. IMOO there nothing special. there are guys who think by conveting them to look like a military rifle they are some how getting a true Ak due to its russain recive kind of make me chuckel. The quality of some of the Saigas is pretty bad as far as fit and finish. they are new true but then you got to rip it apart to make it what you want so in the end you get a non original weapon. some day unmodifed Saigas might be worth something because of the many that were modifed LOL. If you could find a Yugo that was quality built on new parts and had a good reciver like a NDS id get it over a modifed Saiga in a heart beat even if it was $200 more.

I have several saigas and to me there nothing specail thay all have some type of flaw from the factory. If i wasent into AK,s and building them I would not look twice at them. many air soft rifles have better furniture, the factory Plastic saiga stuff is about as crapy as it gets. I havent seen a really accurate Saiga yet not sure why posably the barrels are not up to snuff. I saw a thread some were a 308 owner was braging about
2" groups I was thinking my 100 year old worn out 30-30 could do better. personalu the Saigas scream cheap. I look at them as parts kits with a reciver.

#7 ·