Gunco Forums banner

Saiga12 ProMag 10 Rounder has arrived!

6K views 21 replies 11 participants last post by  dutigaf 
#1 · (Edited)
This is a short overview of this mag. Bottom line - looks like a nice competitor to the APG mags!

Shipping.
I ordered directly from their website because no one had them in stock. They were really swamped so I had to wait *quite a while* for it to arrive... as in 6-8 weeks for delivery. I'm probably more patient than some folks, so if you're a *must have it tomorrow*" person, you need to adjust your expectations when ordering.

Direct link to the manufacturer's page:
ProMag | Saiga

Overall Quality.
The magazine appears robust. Black polymer with metal feed lips. Polymer feels more grainy than some other mags, really close to a Bulgy waffle mag. I'm no plastic expert so that's all I can say about it. It doesn't seem brittle, so it should be able to take some abuse. Spring seems nice and springy. :) Hand-feeding the rounds into the mag "just works". All 10 rounds can be inserted with no excessive load on the spring. Mine had just a little bit of mold flashing (trim) that caused the follower to drag when inserting, but after a few cycles it smoothed up.

Locking lugs.
The magazine locks up tight in the magazine well. Mine does not "drop free" like the factory mag, and behaves just like the Bulgy waffle mags do in most of my 7.62 rifles. You have to physically pull the mag out of the magazine well. You can see on the rear locking lug there is a little bit more meat on the sides that seems to be the point where it rubs against the center support. I could easily file this area with an emory board or small file but for now I don't see the need for any modifications.

Side "waffles"