Gunco Forums banner

Differences in AK-47's?

4K views 24 replies 11 participants last post by  chipmechanic 
#1 ·
So yes, I am a newbie here. I tried a quick search, but didn't find anything that was exactly what I was looking for.

What is the big difference in AK-47's between the different countries that manufactured them?

Are there any that are better or worse than others?

#6 ·
Nalioth, I beleive that he means any AK/AKM "type" rifle. As in Kalashnikov based, not the actual Original 1947-1958 AK-47 type 3 or whatever the hell it's called. If I am reading his question correctly, he is asking what Kalashikov variant is more desireable.
Hungarian AMD63/65
Yugoslavian M70
Romanian "G"
Etc....

#8 ·
Well, the 1947 version was a stamped receiver and only a very few were made.

Do you mean stamped receivers or milled? What caliber, what country, and what differences. You're giving us nothing to go on. We may be damn good with the AK platform but we ain't mind readers.

#9 ·
The first AKs were the "Type 1"s, followed by the "Type 2"s. They're all going on half a century old and pretty rare in the USA.

Then came the "Type 3", otherwise known as the AKM, for AK-Modernized. AKMs were made with stamped or milled receivers, fixed, underfolding, or sidefolding stocks, in the USSR, China, North Korea, Albania, Romania, East Germany, Yugoslavia, Hungary, Bulgaria, India, Egypt, and probably a few places I've forgotten.

Of the AKMs, there were a couple of short barreled versions, the Tantal and the Krinkov. There was also a long barreled version, the Tabuk.