Hungarian AK74 barrel gas port question
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Hungarian AK74 barrel gas port question

  1. #1
    Gunco Rookie jackofnone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    N.W. GA.
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Hungarian AK74 barrel gas port question

    I recently built a 74 from a K-var kit.
    I bought the barrel from another on-line vendor. When I took it out to test fire it, the recoil was excessive to the point that the bolt carrier was jammed into the Tech-Sight. It was so much that it had to be pried loose.
    I de-pinned the gas block and measured the barrel port,(which I should have done first). The port measured .140", which I know is too large.
    My quandary is what to do. I would like to find a remedy that doesn't involve replacing the barrel. I am thinking of reaming the gas block and inserting a brass plug with the correct diameter hole.

    Any ideas??

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    White Cracker 4thIDvet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Swamp Florida
    Posts
    13,564
    Feedback Score
    17 (100%)

    Default

    jack that is interesting. I would hold off on shooting the weapon till the guys can give you a fix for that. Recoil on an AK is kind of mild, that does not sound good. Wish I could help yah but someone here will know what to do.
    "Man needs but two things to survive alone in the woods. A blow up female doll and his trusty old AK-47" - Thomas Jefferson 1781


  3. #3
    Gunco Member usmc3531's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    191
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default

    tap the hole in the gasblock for a set screw, and drill out the center of the setscrew. make several with diffrent size holes till you get it where you want and still cycles

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Gunco.net
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    No Hope For Me Coils's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    PA Where the Amish Roam Free
    Posts
    14,032
    Feedback Score
    38 (100%)

    Default

    tap the hole in the gasblock for a set screw, and drill out the center of the setscrew.
    This
    "Government is not the solution to our problem, government is the problem" Ronald Reagan

  6. #5
    Gunco Rookie jackofnone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    N.W. GA.
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default

    Yep, That's kinda what I had in mind.
    I found a spec for the 5.45x39 7N6 cartridge which is 0.078" diameter hole.
    I think I will start with that size, and along with one of those buffer inserts. Hopefully that will take care of it.

    One other thing, I mis-spoke, the kit was Bulgarian and not Hungarian, although I don't think that makes any difference.
    I did want to set the record right.

    Thanks again,

    Jack

  7. #6
    Gunco Member usmc3531's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    191
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default

    IMO leave the buffer out atleast until you get the gas where you want it. the only time I use a buffer is if the bolt is jumping the rails

  8. #7
    Chief Administrator 7.62x39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6,892
    Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by usmc3531 View Post
    IMO leave the buffer out atleast until you get the gas where you want it. the only time I use a buffer is if the bolt is jumping the rails
    +1
    I've seen buffers cause more problems than they cure.
    .

  9. #8
    GuncoHolic Sprat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4,494
    Feedback Score
    5 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by usmc3531 View Post
    tap the hole in the gasblock for a set screw, and drill out the center of the setscrew. make several with diffrent size holes till you get it where you want and still cycles
    correct solution

    I have never used buffers
    Sprat and sprat1 are one and the same.

  10. #9
    No Hope For Me 1biggun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    15,181
    Feedback Score
    14 (100%)

    Default

    DITTO on the buffer you should not need it . I have used very thin ones on a gun that was built wrong an the carrier came out of the rails but other wise not really needed .

    If your stuck with a over size barrel port restrict the GB port an drill up until the gun cycles the weakest ammo you will shoot .

Search tags for this page

can a gas block on a ak-74 with the port too big be fixed

,

how to check diameter of ak47 gass port

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •