Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Scout Rifle SCOPE for Mosin

Feedback Score

Default Scout Rifle SCOPE for Mosin

I'm getting my Mosin set up as a scout rifle. Can you guys point in a good direction for a scope? I'll be using this rifle for hunting. In western WA, most hunts will be at about 100 yards. Would like the scope to be able to go to 200-300 yards as well if needed. Would prefer a variable scope.
    Looking to spend about $200 for a scope. What do you guys recommend?

Thanks In Advance.
    Polish AK 74
    ------------------

Feedback Score

I have been using the Burris for many years. You can find a new one for about $250.00. Less for a used one.

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    SOON-We already lost the war. You are the resistance.

Feedback Score
    15 (100%)

railbuggy,

For a proper installation, that scope requires a) a "highwall" Mosin receiver (somewhat rare and what the PU mount really needs) and b) drilling, tapping and wood removal.

It also requires grinding and/or shimming to fit the mount to the Mosin receiver else you end up with either of not being able to sight in the scope or a really odd sight picture (assuming the reticle moves as windage/elevation is adjusted per the original PU scope design).

Not an easy scope to mount and not really a "scout" scope IMHO.
    I have a daughter. I tell her, "911 is what you dial after you're raped. 1911 is what you should have before they try."

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

i had the same idea for my m38.i just picked up this one and installed it today. it is chinese and name is aim. it gives quick acquisition of target w/ both eyes open. rail mounts in rear sight mount. 2-7x32. don't know how it'll hold zero, but it was only 70.00 at the gun show.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Always sore, always tired Bradrock's Avatar
    Feedback Score
    23 (100%)

I wish I'd bought more M38's when they were $49.00 at Aztec in Florida.