Gouged by McMaster-Carr Shipping

Thread: Gouged by McMaster-Carr Shipping

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)

Default Gouged by McMaster-Carr Shipping

I found out too late that just the shipping for 2ea. 1 pound cans of Kasenit is $38. I also ordered a 1/4" end mill for $17 on the same order. The sales associate told me that in addition to the $38 Kasenit shipping, the end mill will be shipped separately and the shipping for the end mill will be more than the cost of the end mill. According to the sales associate, they will only ship to Hawaii via UPS 2nd day. No where on their web site is this mentioned.

I have never had such problems with McMaster before. To McMasters credit they did cancel the end mill order for me. I ordered the same end mill from Enco. It was a couple dollars more, but the shipping was less than $7 for 2 end mills.

Gunco Veteran AK Builder FloridaAKM's Avatar
    Feedback Score
    12 (100%)

I have been buying from McMaster-Carr for many years as a purchasing agent and NEVER had such a problem. Now you do live in the Aloha State and not as close to the main branch as I do. Some times, you have to do a bit of research on shipping charges before ordering for things like HazMat fees, shipping to other than the lower 48 states, regulations requiring UPS Red Next Day Delivery for certain regulated items, etc. Wait till your supplier charges you expidite fees that cost much more than the item you need, plus the shipping charges......

"If God had not intended for us to eat animals, how come He made them out of meat?" - Sarah Palin
    New Member of the Busted Box Club

Feedback Score
    69 (100%)

I know that sometimes shipping can be expensive, however, at least we can have things shipped.

There was a time that if the product you wanted wasn't in your local area, you just had to do without.

Being able to buy things and have them shipped is for me just part of the game. We can complain but at least we have what we want.