Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 80% reciever question

Feedback Score

Default 80% reciever question

So if you buy an 80% blank no matter where it was made it is not considered a receiver yet it is considered basically a paper weight. SO if you are in the US and drill it out and make it a receiver is it then a US made receiver?

Feedback Score
    25 (100%)

Correct, It is only a piece of material before you make it a gun in the US. Materials for making guns can be sourced outside the US. That being said. I am not a lawyer and the ATF may not agree! ;-)

Feedback Score

If you order one from Curtis, he will send you a letter from the atf stating the legalities with it. As long as you drill it and weld it here in the us, it ain't a foreign firearm.

Feedback Score

That is what I thought thanks I have the Blank already.

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)

those atf letters are sometimes not worth the paper they are printed on, but the general excepted fact and/or rule of thumb is, they are not receivers and once made 100% they are US made,, though that has been argued for years also
    Sprat and sprat1 are one and the same.

Feedback Score
    20 (100%)

It will count as 1 US made part.

It's also NOT the only US made part required.

Feedback Score

But can we engrave or mark the receiver made in the USA? that s the sixty-four thousand dollar question, If anyone wants I will write a letter toi ATF regarding this issue