Thread: AMD 65 Gas Tube Question

Feedback Score

Default AMD 65 Gas Tube Question

Bear with me I am new at this. A friend and I are getting AMD 65 parts kits no receiver of course and no barrel my question is on the barrel if I get a 16 + inch US made barrel do I have to get a longer gas tube? Or is that issue only with those that want to put on a top hand guard ?

So if the gas tube is shorter and you are putting on a standard length barrel does that mean that you have to put on a longer gas tube and a different gas piston on the bolt?

If that is the case is it easier to buy a barrel that you need to drill the gas hole in the barrel to use the original parts? Or am I making this all harder then it is?

Feedback Score

OK I could still use the Answers but I do see AK-Builders makes a barrel for it which you have to add a long enough brake to make it legal. But I am still not sure if a longer barrel will work.

Feedback Score

OK did some more searching so I see I just need to get the right barrel for it so I can use my original parts. Which is fine since I need a US made barrel to add to my compliance list.

Feedback Score
    38 (100%)

I forget the length, but yes AK-Builder (and I think some others) carry a barrel that works with the original parts, but you still need to permently attatch the muzzle brake.

If you go with a standard 16" barrel, yes get one that does not have the gas port drilled. If you get one with the gas port, you'll need a standard length tube & piston.
    "Government is not the solution to our problem, government is the problem" Ronald Reagan

Feedback Score

Thanks I think it would be best to go with the barrel that is for the kit since I have to buy a barrel no matter what. Since it is US made that will go as one of my US made Compliance Parts.

Feedback Score