noobie builder questions
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: noobie builder questions

Feedback Score

Question noobie builder questions

I'm a noobie AK builder, but I'm familiar with AK's and I own several. I'm also an experienced welder and sheet metal worker, but I'm not much of a machinist, so a kit build looks to me like something I can accomplish.

I've always wanted to build my own AK, and I want an AK pistol. With the barrel ban raising prices and slashing supply it looks like my last chance to give this a try is coming up. I'm going to be shopping for supplies at the next gunshow, but I've questions about what to buy and I'm hoping y'all can help.

Can I build a pistol off a romanian kit if I get a short gas piston for it and shorten the gas tube? I have a cheap drill press and a welder so I think I can relocate the gas hole, will I need a lathe to shorten the barrel or will a bandsaw work? Also, is there anything I should be looking out for when buying one of these kits?

I like the flat concept more than the bent blank one. I've been reading around here and it looks like the 1mm tapco flat is a good choice. What's with the trunion holes vs no trunion holes, why would I want to drill my own trunion holes? It looks like 1mm flats are the easiest to work with, 1.6mm flats are a bit narrow on the inside and require some machining of parts to fit inside. Am I right on all of this, should I be looking for 1mm flats with trunion holes?

Thanks!

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

If you are wanting to shorten a standard bbl you will have to move the gas block back and use a shorter gas tube and piston. Do a search, there was somebody doing the shortening process on the whole front end for people. While you *can* do it all by hand or with a bandsaw, a lathe makes it much easier.