New Member Doing AMD-65 build

Thread: New Member Doing AMD-65 build

Feedback Score

Default New Member Doing AMD-65 build

Hi guys, as you can tell from my postmeter I'm a newbie. I've had my SKS since I turned 16 and it lead to an interest in AK's. I purchased a Romak 991 5 years ago and have put a couple of cases of ammo through it.

I love tinkering with stuff in the garage and really would like to have a higher capacity AK to tinker with. I have a MIG and a nice torch set and must hand tools. Dremels, drills and a well suited garage.

Yesterday I purchased a laser cut flat and rails and an AMD-65 parts kit. I know I need to get some other us parts to finish the build. I have done some research on the screw type builds and am seriously considering it.

questions:
    1. How do I locate the front and rear trunions in the reciever once bent and welded together? is it as simple as putting them in flush with the ends of the reciever which is 10 1/4" long?

2. Is heat treating with a torch in my garage going to do the trick on the reciever?

3. How long did your first builds take some of you guys?

I'm sure I'll have a million more after this but it atleast will get me a little more confident to have answers to these.

Thanks, looks like you guys have a great forum here. Hope to hear back soon.

Jimbo

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

Jimbo, Welcome to the forum.

There are two schools of thought on locating the front trunnion, I have used both, and both work.

A) use your forearm to locate the trunnion, make sure the front of the receiver measures 1.200 in height. temporarily bolt in the selector stop and trigger guard and check mag fit.

B) Rivet in the SS and TG then use a mag to the locate front trunnion. Then check forearm fit.

The whole trick is to get the correct spacing between the trunnion and the mag catch.

As far as the rear goes, thats easy, once you have the front located correctly, use the top cover to locate the rear.