Gunco Forums banner

How I rebuilt my milled ak's for $55 plus compli parts.

83K views 152 replies 69 participants last post by  vz58 
#1 · (Edited)
First let me say I am no engineer/gunsmith/or anyone who knows anything. So if you chose to do what I've done it's on your head if you try this and screw it up and get hurt.
I have built several of these. The one with the most rounds through it (300+) looks great, no wear or anything funny and only a few failures to feeds that were only happening with one particular mag. It takes me about 5-6 hours for a folder and 5 hrs for a fixed stock build.
I had several years of experience about 20 years ago welding in muffler shops and none since then. I have used both 110v home/hobby mig welders and a heavier farm type 220v wire welder for these builds. Both had shielding gas. If you are good with your 110v go for it but the 220v was the heat for me. You could TIG these too but I have absolutely no knowledge of how to do that.

Start with one milled kit:

Make sure the torch did not get anywhere near the locking lugs of the front trunnion.

Add 2 repair plates:

And get this:

Or this:

Cut, file, or grind the front trunnion so the slag is removed and the cut is nearly vertical:

I used a chop saw with metal cutting blade but a dremel, hacksaw or grinder can do the trick. Try to leave as much of the lightening cuts intact because these are difficult to repair (not impossible though)
Demill the folding stock or fixed stock, removing everything that is removable:

Shear these 2 rivets from the inside.

Trim the rear trunnion like you did the front.

I prefer to leave AT LEAST the end of the upper receiver rails intact. If you have a folder you must leave the holes for the folder intact.
Make sure you take the sling loop out if it is a fixed stock.