Gunco Forums banner

Soumi drum AK Flats at AK-builder!!!!!!

4K views 35 replies 12 participants last post by  notime2hunt 
#1 ·
#5 ·
pjm204 you have any pics or insights? It sounds pretty straight forward, a bit of a twist on a regular AK build but not much different. The only thing I'm not sure about is where to position the bolt in the carrier.
Are you using a 74 bolt or the adapter for the 47 bolt?

#6 ·
I have a bunch of pics that other people have sent. I am using a 47 bolt with a bolt face sleeve. A bunch of milling or grinding needs to be done to the carrer and the bolt handle needs to be moved back and welded. If you weld the bolt to the carrier then you either are forced to have a none removeable firing pin or need to resolve that issue. Asside from the bolt and carrier it is a very straight forward build

#11 ·
If I were to buy one of these, and I think it would be a very fun toy, could I pay one of you to bend it for me? I can do all the welding, I am a tig welder by profession. I don't have access to any of the jigs and have never bent one anyway. Thanks, Josh

#12 ·
Fordf1004x4 said:
If I were to buy one of these, and I think it would be a very fun toy, could I pay one of you to bend it for me? I can do all the welding, I am a tig welder by profession. I don't have access to any of the jigs and have never bent one anyway. Thanks, Josh
No can do. Your best bet is to buy a pre-bent reciever or find someone that has the tools and will let you use them to do the work.

#14 ·
although I think the drums would be a lot more fun
Of course the drums would be more fun, but I have a few stick mags too and would like to use them also. :brows: Thanks for letting me know they can work, I must over looked that when I read the info.

Anyone got Curtis's email? I used the one listed on the site (Curtis@ak-builder.com) and it bounced back.

#18 ·
Chiroone said:
The standard Ak builder flat bending jig will not work with this flat without considerable alternation