Gunco Forums banner

L1A1 Questions & Help.

3K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  Olympicarmsfan 
#1 ·
Hi everyone I'm kind of new to the FALs & L1A1 guns. I have always liked them and looked at them but never thought I would own one. I bought one today and its a very clean rifle.

I have a few questions on the gun. This is an L1A1 marked .308 Sporter from CAI. I know not a CAI but yes and it does run. This is both metric and inch.......I think. I do know it will take both mags and thats one of the big things that made me get it.

The questions I have is as follows.

The gun came with a thumb hole stock. I wanted to know where can I get the parts to change that out? I would like to add later on a pistol grip and a new stock.

I did find a place on the net called Enterprise Arms. They have kits of just the stock and grip that is US made. Tell me will this be 922r compliant? I'm not sure if I would have to change more things out if I bought these US made parts. If you know of other places that are better let me know.

Enterprise Arms

I dont have a problem with the stock thats on it as it feels good in my hands and in my shoulder but it may be something I like to change out later on.
If I wanted to change out the stock and grip I guess tell me what all and how many US made parts I need.

Does a flash hider count as one US made part?

Also what do I have to do to add a bipod to the gun?

The receiver is marked made by Imbel Brazil and assembled by CAI Canada. I dont know much about it and if this is a good thing or a bad thing. I know that CAI gets a lot of bad feed back but this is a gun that I know does run. I know I have to get use to the the gas adjustment with the ammo I shoot in it. That is something I look forward to learning when I get a chance to go out and shoot.

I will take all and any info you can give me on the rifle. Thanks everyone for the help and info.

See less See more
#3 ·