Gunco Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12,413 Posts
Okay.... That all looks like it could be duplicated. I have and air chisel and the one peice looks like it would fit right into my air chisel socket.

It never even occured to me to use my air chisel.

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
I've been around guys who do aircraft structural work for a living and to me using an air impact riveter is an art form. It's not someting you learn overnight. As an aerospace QA inspector I've had many jobs redone due to impact walking. Which is having the impact riveter walk a little during the riveting process. Surounding metal is damaged (half circles) as well as the rivet. Also ensuring the buck stays on target is a task too. When you see someone riveting who knows what their doing it looks easy but I've tried it and without stellar results. I'm into the slow crush method which reduces the chance of damaging the rivet or metal. I'm not saying that you can't screw up a slow crush job but at least it's happening at a reduced pace and you can recover. Just my observations.

·
Happy Camper
7,794 Posts
yeah what Toten said - everything and I mean everything I've read says this can be very bad for your reciever IF you screw up. That's a big IF...

On the forums when they talk about riveting mistakes, they usually refer to them as smileys or half-moons, that's what they are talking about, when the hammer slips & hits the reciever metal leaving a nice semi-circled dent.

OTOH, I think it was Winn who mentioned the ease of using a center punch that had a concave round dremelled out of the front, used this on the face, and bucked the back (not sure 'bout the buck) and used a 3-4lb hammer to drive the rivet in place. Slow, deliberate, gets results.

·
Registered
2,836 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
scubadvr said:
George, I ordered one, believe me I am happy with my "plinker" tool, but I want to check out this method. I will keep you guys informed. Jack
God, I'm glad I use screws :)