Gunco Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are the some of the advantages/disadvantages of using bolts insted of rivets? Has any one had any bad experinces with bolts?
thanks Tobacco Man

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Thanks for the welcome. I feel like I have asked 500 questions in 2 days, but I am new to the AK building world. Everyone here is really helpful:thankyou: .
What size taps did you use for the front & rear trunnions? I am still trying to buy all the riveting tools, so I may just use a screw kit I have for my first build. (my paper says I need a 10-32NF bottoming tap for the 4 holes in the front trunnion) I do not think I have a bottoming tap.
thanks again, Tobacco Man

·
Premium Member
7,143 Posts
WC846 said:
Cephus, what kind of screws do tou use? Hardened? Button head?
I have used button head and when I bought them I was told they are grade 8. Do you need some?

·
Premium Member
7,143 Posts
Tobacco Man said:
Where do you get the grade 8 ones from?

T M
I get mine from an industrial supply place about 5 minutes from my house. I know some have ordered online - but not sure where from.

·
Registered
2,607 Posts
just wondering what size so i can check and see if they stock them at work..if you let me know exactly what sizes we need..i'll make you up a care package too..haha

·
Registered
2,607 Posts
ok..got em
10-32 X 1/2
10-32 X 3/8
10-32 X 1/4
8-32 X 1/2
8-32 X 3/8
8-32 X 1/4
6/32 X 1/2
6-32 X 1/4

Think that about covers it..probably have some extra ones that i'll never use but what the heck. I'll use them for something. I looked the drawings up and the specs are rockwell 36-46..that should be plenty hard enough..

·
Registered
3,518 Posts
You can usually find them at your local ace hardware store. They are in the white and (button head)sanded down then painted look just like the ones you can order. Just grind down what you dont need.