Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,900 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Modulus jig review.

This is not intended to be a tutorial, Modulus already has some excellent videos on their website that walk you right through each step. This is just an overview of my experience using their product. Keep in mind that I'm not a machinist by trade but I've made some chips in my time.

Continued from this thread. http://www.gunco.net/forums/202-gun...modulus-arms-only-need-common-hand-tools.html

·
Premium Member
6,900 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
80% blank I will be using for this review along with another one that I recently finished using my mini mill. Instructions downloaded from Modulus' website. Bosch PR20EVSK router. (model recommended by Modulus)

View attachment 37590

Attachments

·
Premium Member
6,900 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The Modulus jig indexes off of the receiver extension (buffer) tube mount and the front pivot pin bosses. The cnc gunsmithing jig locates off of the same pivot pin boss in the front and the take down pin hole in the rear.
This is a big deal on all but the latest version of 80% blanks. Previously you had to break down your set up halfway through in order to remove the alignment pin from the take down hole in order to machine out the rear shelf. This is not an issue with the Modulus jig.

I didn't waste time documenting the jig assembly simply because Modulus has an excellent video on their site that covers that step.

Pics 1 & 2 show the jig with the drill guide and side plates installed. pic 3 is template only. The swarf will be a flyin' tomorrow

View attachment 37593

View attachment 37594

View attachment 37595

Attachments

·
Premium Member
6,900 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·