Gunco Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt at making grip panels for a pistol. This is a VIS 35 Radom. It was manufactured in Poland just before the Nazies occupied and took over the plant. If you look close, and my picture quality is there, you can see the Nazi proofs on the slide. It's a 9mm that I have massaged a little to accept the hollowpoints you see in the pic.

Lewt me know what you think, I can take it.

Attachments

·
Registered
681 Posts
wow... That's a great looking piece... and a wonderful job on the grip plates... did you carve them by hand? and what type of wood did you use?:rockin:

·
Registered
68 Posts
Lookin good Reb, they really finish the look of that gun.:cool: I've been thinking about making some slabs for my 1911, gotta find some nice wood first.

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the kind words guys.

Yes, I did them by hand. I was at my local shop going over the feeding problem with my "smith", when he remarked that the clear acrylic panels that were on them, "looked like shit". Well.....I had to agree. After a while of rummiging through some drawers, he came up with a pair of cherry blanks and said "do something about itI asked him how much he wanted for them, and he told me not to embarass him with what I came up with...... :rockin:

The hardest part was figuring out how I wanted the grain to run with the lines of the gun and finger grooves once I was done. I then marked my holes for the screws and started to rough them out for the raised areas on the grip like the mag release.

Once I had the rough dimensions to the frame, I used a flat file to round off the squared edges along the frame.I then traced the outline of my fingers with a pencil, just for referance marks while I carved the grooves into them.