Gunco Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,922 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got this from a user over at Gunboards.com. Has anyone here seen this?

Warning surplus IMR-5010 powder users!!!!!
I run a long range shooting club here in NM. Yesterday a member approached me with a question about a powder he is using. He said " it's fuming" ........What?
I walked down and sure enough the powder was outgassing a very heavy oder of ammonia and Nitric Acid fumes. The powder was slowly turning sticky and had,from over night, corroded the brass cases and the projectiles.
This powder is milsurp pull down IMR-5010 powder that was sold in bulk from the long gone Talon company. Weidners and Pats reloading sells this powder in black plastic 8 pound jugs. There are no lot numbers or dates on the label.
I have been reloading since 1964 and have never seen this happen before. As you know nitro-cellulose uses Nitric Acid to make the propellant. Some how the acid was not neutralized correctly. When the acid is not removed from the powder grains, the deterent coating will break down and uncontrolled burning will happen. The powder may detonate rather than burn
If any of you have any powder that was OK a few months ago you may want to check it again. This powder was normal just last winter. Now it is breaking down. It was stored in a cool room. It was not left in the sunlight.
Chris at Weiders has been notified. Pat at Pat's Reloading has been left a message.
The club member is scrubbing his equipment with baking-soda and water to stop the acid from corroding his electronic scale,brass,bullets,etc.
Please check your powder.

·
Registered
7,478 Posts
That explanation isn't very accurate, IMO. Any powder can degrade, this is not a 5010 issue. The explanation given by the author is a jump to a conclusion. Just because since 1964 HE hasn't seen anything like this does not make it uncommon, nor does it make the problem the result of some kind of acid neutralization issue.