Gunco Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Master Endmill Breaker
1,367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I bought a Walther Top Point red dot sight. I've never used a red dot sight before, but the price was too good not to buy it. So here's a red dot newb question;

So now that I've actually looked through it, is the reticle supposed to move as your position changes? What I mean is, when I am not looking through the exact center of the scope, the reticle appears to move to line up with my eye position. If I look through the exact center and then move slightly off center, the reticle moves and always appears to line up with my target. Is this normal?

·
Master Endmill Breaker
1,367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
That's exactly what I wanted to know. It's kind of odd, but I'm diggin' the red dot action. I got the 45mm Top Point. That thing is like a Coke can on top of the rifle...

·
Registered
681 Posts
There should be no "paralax" as you describe with your red-dot. The older, original "aimpoint" sights had a dome on the top, and a little fiber optic pin to collect light. these were often terrible for that. the newer LED models are supposedly paralax free.

·
Registered
517 Posts
funny observation.. must be the newbie in us cuz my daughters got me one for my birthday and I noticed the same thing.

I think thats dope as hell.. I cant understand why I think that.. but I do.. I havent got to take mine out and try it yet... I need to get a side mount.

·
Registered
3,690 Posts
sks_hunter said:
There should be no "paralax" as you describe with your red-dot. The older, original "aimpoint" sights had a dome on the top, and a little fiber optic pin to collect light. these were often terrible for that. the newer LED models are supposedly paralax free.