Gunco Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
I ordered one and found out the hard way. I checked into it and a Firing Line milled receiver will run about $400. Then you have to headspace it. Which is no problem for experinced AK builders, but I am just starting out with stamped receivers (much more to learn). It would be a nice peice when you get it finished though.

T M

·
Master Endmill Breaker
1,367 Posts
So the Sportsmans Guide kits are for the threaded milled receivers... Dang, I was hoping they might be the pinned barrel type.

How was the condition of the kit? Was the bore in decent shape? What about the handguards and pistol grip? Was it a matched numbers kit (not really necessary, but nice if it is)?

The threaded barrels can still be turned down in a lathe to fit a stamped trunnion, so all is not lost.

·
Registered
135 Posts
They actually sent me the wrong kit. I got a underfolder (ordered a fixed stock set). The bore was great, the metal finish was good, and the wood was uhhh. I asked about trying to use it on a stamped receiver, but I do not have a milling machine, and from what I could understand it was alot of extra work.

T M

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
A 40 doller trunion and a stamped reciever will be a big help to you instead of a milled reciever.. not a great big deal. just get the proper trunion

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Yes its a treaded barrel kit. And mine looks great. Shows next to no wear except a little on the barrel right at the front sight (just a little shinny). The furniture is a very dark almost plum color. And all the number match and there is a ton of russain writing on it. Once I get it cleaned up I will try and post some pics.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Why not buy a cheap SLR-101, widen the mag well, and sell off the leftover parts?

You could have a nice Bulgarian milled rec for <$200.

·
Registered
2,836 Posts
erikk said:
Thought it was too good to be true!!