Gunco Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
first off I am new to reloading, :scared: I bought a bunch of lake city brass that is all ready to reload. however the place that sold the brass did not sell primers. I need to know about primers and how to choise them. are the all the same or are they differant sizes and typs? I want to get the proper ones for the brass I bought. also how about "sealer" for the primers. is their such a thing?? if yes do I need it ?
pretty soon I will be asking about powder LOL

·
Premium Member
1,290 Posts
hotbarrel said:
first off I am new to reloading, :scared: I bought a bunch of lake city brass that is all ready to reload. however the place that sold the brass did not sell primers. I need to know about primers and how to choise them. are the all the same or are they differant sizes and typs? I want to get the proper ones for the brass I bought. also how about "sealer" for the primers. is their such a thing?? if yes do I need it ?
Are you loading 308, 3006 or 223?
There is generally two sizes in the US, large and small rifle, both sizes come in standard and magnum. The magnum can burn a little hotter and can increase pressures a little so don't use for loads that are hot or in the upper limits. Most 30 calibre ammo is large rifle. I belive only military and military spec ammo is laquered at the primer and the bullet to discourage intrusion of water.

Generally, the larger the capacity of the brass, the slower the burning time of the powder. Most of the military ammo does will with the "IMR" ( improved military rifle) powders.

BTW This is critical, make sure you never use fast burning pistol powder in large calibre rifle brass, disaster will result.

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)