Gunco Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to building and was wondering what way to push out the barrrel pin on an amd-65 or any ak for that matter? should I push it from the left side or from the right side? What side did they originaly push them in from?

Thanks.

·
1,763 Posts
There may be some differing sets of opinions on this but what I do is press it out and in the same direction. Once it's pressed it leaves a small ridge on the side it comes out, so pressing it back in that direction would possibly cause some scarring of the pin. So effectively out which way is easiest and back in from the same side. (so the gun is always laying on the same side)
As far as originally, I have no clue. You may can look at the pin and see one side slightly beveled, I would say it went in from that side.

·
Premium Member
6,900 Posts
From what I have been able to find out on the subject, the preferred way to remove them is left to right, the opposite from the way they were originally installed which was right to left.
Which would also be the way to re install it.

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
7.62x39 said:
From what I have been able to find out on the subject, the preferred way to remove them is left to right, the opposite from the way they were originally installed which was right to left.
To be honest, almost everything I learned was from 7.62X39. I agree with him, it's the way I've been doing it also. Never had any problems.

·
Registered
75 Posts
7.62x39 said:
Is that looking from where the bullet comes out or the chamber ?

·
Registered
86 Posts
From what I have read someone said the thing to remember was the phrase LEFT OUT.

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
crffl said:
Is that looking from where the bullet comes out or the chamber ?

When you are aiming the weapon down range, the left is the left and the right is the right. Remove pins left to right, install pins right to left.

·
Registered
704 Posts